As I mentioned in a previous blog entry, I have been for some strange reason, completely fascinated by the Recoleta cementary.   So I decided that next on the list would be Cementario Chacarita, as it would be a good way to compare the two and also venture to another part of town I hand´t seen.

Aldo Sessa, the local photographer I met had some amazing photos from it and recommended that I go so I thought why not.  Sort of a strange thing to have to tell people about, like in my Spanish class when my teacher asked us to use the future tense to explain what we would do later that afternoon, but sometimes you have to just go for it when you are exploring a new city.  I hopped on the Red Subte line out to Chacarita (one of the things I really like about BA vs. Brazilian cities is that you can hop on a subway to almost all major parts of the city).  The bright pink and quite authoritative entrance was compelling, as were all the flowers vendors that lined the walkway outside.  As I started to wander through the beginning headstones, I began to feel a bit wary.

Eery tombstones of Cementario Chacarita

There really were some beautiful tombs and it seemed much bigger than the Recoleta cementary, but I found myself distracted because as far as I could see out in every direction to the very last row of tombs, I was completely alone other than a few maintenance workers here and there.  Any other signs of life I saw were people driving by on their way out.  The other really weird thing was that I seemed to be the only one there as a tourist, not to actually pay my respects.  Thankfully it was a bright sunny day and a nice blue sky, otherwise I don´t think I could have stayed, but as I wandered further everything started to feel quite eary and uneasy and I couldn´t help but panic a bit every time I heard footsteps lurking behind these massive tombs.  The wind blew, and it was almost out of a Hitchcock movie….all I could hear were leaves crinkling and that awfully disturbing humming noise that the pigeons nearby were making.  To top off the eariness, some of the tombs are a bit decrepid with doors covered in cobwebs and or actual holes in the marble floors revealing god knows what.  At times I felt like I didn´t want to look in any further out of fear of seeing something strange or unsightly.  Nevertheless, there are many interesting photos to be taken, whether it be of the reflections on the tomb doors or in a nearby puddle, really beautiful stained glass or onyx and marble engravings, and many interesting shadows.  Somehow I made it out alive and well, but I vowed that I was once and for all done visiting cementaries!

